Expert response from Community Manager
Friday, 10/23/2015 14:17
The short and easy answer is that they are not related. Gluten is a protein in wheat and is said to be the glue that holds or binds bread together while giving it a desired chewy texture. Because wheat gluten cannot be tolerated with those having celiac disease, it has received enormous attention in the past several years mostly as a gluten-free diet craze for both celiac sufferers as well as the general population. While wheat is the primary grain containing gluten, it is also found in smaller amounts in rye and barley.
Genetically modified or GMO wheat is not currently in the food supply. Some trials have been conducted on the wheat plant to make it resistant to herbicides but these trials are still in the experimental stages. Currently, the only genetically modified products on the market are corn, cotton, soybeans, sugar beets, papaya, alfalfa, canola, squash and potato. A GM apple has been approved to be grown and will be coming to market.
How GMOs are Researched, Developed and Tested
Learn how plant biotechnology works through the scientists who research, develop and test GMO crops at Dupont.